Cork Sinn Fein Structure
Home Page

History of Sinn Fein

Press Releases

Contact Cork Sinn Fein

Sinn Fein Structure

Ogra Shinn Fein


Cllr. Jonathan O Brien Home Page

Henry Cremin Home Page

Anti Social Behaviour Document

Tony Ahern/Dermot Crowley Memorial Page

Sign the Guest Book

Photo Gallery


Cork North Central General Election Constituency

Ahern/Crowley Cumann

The Ahern/Crowley Cumann covers the local election ward of Cork North East. The Cumann was formed in 2000. The Cumann is named after two IRA Vols from Mayfield who died on active service in the early 70's. 

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Cllr. Annette Spillane, contact 0876649116

Countess Markievicz Cumann

The Markievicz Cumann is the oldest and longest serving Sinn Fein Cumann in the City, it covers the North West ward. The Cumann is named after Countess Markievicz (1868-1927) Countess Markievicz was the founder of Fianna Eireann in 1909 and was the 2nd in command to Michael Mallon at St. Stephans Green during the 1916 Easter Rising.

Local Sinn Rep is Cllr. Jonathan O Brien, contact 0860662877

Tadgh Barry Cumann

The Tadgh Barry Cumann was formed following the 2002 General Election and covers the North Central ward of the City. The Tadgh Barry Cumann has grown from strength to strength in a short time.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Jackie Connolly, contact 0876729628

Barret/Mc Curtain Cumann

Based in the Blarney area of the County, the Barret/Mc Curtain Cumann was formed in 2003. The Cumann covers the Blarney, Tower, Glouthane and Glanmire areas of the County.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is John Stanton, contact 0860893112

Cork South Central General Election Constituency 

Terence Mc Swiney Cumann

The Terence Mac Swiney civers the South West ward of the City and was formed in 1998. Named after the former Lord Mayor of Cork who died on hunger strike, the Cumann takes in the most diverse area of the City.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Henry Cremin, contact 0862662874

O Neill/De Barra Cumann

Covering the South East ward of the city, the O Neill/De Barra was set up in 2001 and is one of the fastest growing Cumann in the Cork area.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Dermot O Mahony, contact 0861645038

Joe Murphy Cumann

The Joe Murphy Cumann is the newest Sinn Fein Cumann in the City and was formed in 2005 following the success of the local elections in 2004. Named after Joe Murphy who came from the Ballyphehane area and died on Hunger Strike in 1920.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Fiona Kerins, contact 0879906865

Mc Swiney/Ahern/ O Neill Cumann

Established in 1998 it covers Passage West and Carrigaline area of the County. Named after 3 Republicans from the Cork area the Cumann is one of the smallest but most active Cumann in Cork.

Local Sinn Fein Rep is Roisin O Sullivan, contact 0214311389


Martin Hurson Cumann

Established for more than a decade, the Martin Hurson cumann is based in UCC and has produced many dedicated Republican activists over the years. The cumann is named after Vol Martin Hurson who died on Hunger Strike in 1981. The cumann comes under the auspices of Ogra Shinn Fein.

Local Sinn Fein rep is Willie Howard, contact 087 2303 956

Cork City Constituency Map

Above is a Picture of the Cork City Election Map. The City is divided in two. The upper half is Cork North Central General Election area and the lower part is Cork South Central.

Current Cork Sinn Fein Cllr's Jonathan O Brien and Annette Spillane reside in the Cork North Central Constituency. Cork South Central is the home of Passage West Town Councillor, Roisin O Sullivan

The Cork Sinn Fein Ogranisation is mostly based in the City with the Sinn Fein Office on Barrack Street providing the central point of delegation and organisation.

In terms of Ogra (Youth) structure there is an Ogra Sinn Fein group active in the City and is based in the Sinn Fein Office. The group makes up the youth of the local Cumman and other members. The is a very active Sinn Fein group in The Cork Institute Of Technology (C.I.T) and are previous winners of the best Society Award and joint Best Political Society.

Cork County Cumann

Sinn Fein Cumann can be found in the following towns throughout County Cork

  • Youghal                              
  • Cobh
  • Midelton
  • Mallow
  • Fermoy
  • Mitchelstown
  • Mallow
  • Ballincollig
  • Macroom
  • Newmarket
  • Bandon
  • Bantry
  • Skibbereen
  • Clonakilty

    As you may have noted each Sinn Fein Cumman has a name. The names of the Cumman are the names of fallen Volunteers of Oglaigh Na hEireann and they are remembered in this way.

    Cork Sinn Fein and Sinn Fein Nationally are constantly looking for members who are willing to uphold the republican agenda and who wish to be active in political change. If you have any questions or if you wish to join Sinn Fein in any of the areas mentioned above. Please feel free to contact us either by E-Mail or telephone. See our Contact Page.